becoming fishers

I will give you the treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places, so
that you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, who summons you by
name. ~Isaiah 45:3

Saturday we took to the streets the practical tools for evangelism and discipleship we learned when the Campus Crusade group was in town last week.

setting up the visual survey

asking passers-by if they would be interested in taking the survey; this guy wanted to know why I was interested to ask him about his life

Others were not interested. :)

We parked the car in front of where we were and locked the kids in it with a movie. It was glorious to be able to have hours of uninterrupted conversation with adults!

This guy was fascinating to talk to. He came up to me, peered over my shoulder, and actually asked me what the survey was about. I told him, asked if he was interested in taking it, and he said yes. He proceeded to give the most amazing, thoughtful, and spiritually-minded answers. I then asked if he had ever heard of the Four Spiritual Laws; he said no. I asked if he was interested in hearing them, if he had another five minutes. He said Sure. I literally just read the little leaflet to him, asked him a few questions, then invited him to accept Christ into his life. He said that what I shared was spectacular, that he believes in God, and, yes, wanted to invite Christ into his life.

So he did, right then and there.

By far one of the best moments of my life. The first total stranger I have ever led to the Lord.

I gave him a copy of what I shared with him and he said he would take it home and share it with his children. I wouldn’t be surprised it he did, he was pretty enthused!

He gave us his contact information, so we hope to be able to get a hold of him to see how he is doing. Tony will most likely take it from here. Mauricio left us some great ideas and material for discipleship, so we’ll see what happens next.

Makes this whole year of extreme trial, challenge, and suffering all worth it!

I should add that three people accepted Christ this day, and numerous others expressed interest in continuing the conversation and talking more about God and spiritual things. Since CC left town, the follow-up fall in the laps of us who remain. Making disciples!

One thought on “becoming fishers

Leave a Reply

