ch-ch-ch-changes

A lot of changes going on around here.

Here’s one really great one Tony keeps telling me to mention here. When he first started working in the children’s home the boys would draw pictures: dead people, knives, blood, hands getting chopped off – really dark things, death, and violence. Now they draw pictures of trees and hearts and people and sunshine. Tony pointed this out to Cristian, one of the boys, the other day and asked him what happened, what had changed?

He said, “It’s because you showed us movies about God.”

Even the psychologist has noted a change in the boys, and for the better. They’re still a rowdy crowd with tons of problems, but God specializes in people with problems.

A little bit of light goes a long way. And that is what we are supposed to be, light in the darkness.

Tony fixing the abandoned pool at the boys’ home (not sure what he’s doing exactly – filling in a crack I think…)

Tony is there today cutting their grass. We prayed before he left that he doesn’t get bit by any black widows. ‘Tis the season, and their grass and weeds are up to his waist. They don’t have a lawn mower, a car, or any money to do anything. We even have to lend them our hose so they can water the garden they have planted. It’s just the way it is here. All over, probably – the government doesn’t give the children’s homes any money to do anything, only money for food and that’s about it. We still have bread crumbs they grated by hand from stale bread that we bought from them to raise money for bus fare for an outing. Hopefully the church here will get more involved soon. If we ever leave, someone’s got to take over or they will be left basically alone again.

Another huge change – after six years of homeschoooling we’ve also decided to put the kids in school. Homeschooling isn’t working here. We did it for the first year, but time for a change. There is no support network here like back home, no other homeschoolers, and Tony takes our only car the whole day. That, and all our illnesses, burnt me out to homeschooling. I don’t want to do it anymore. At least not right now. So we started looking into it – they will start in March (the beginning of the academic school year) if it all works out. There is an unbelievable amount of paperwork, but I am relieved, happy, and excited for them and for me. I think it’ll be good, as a matter of fact, I think it is God’s best for them. I really don’t care how they do academically. I am most excited for them to learn fluent Spanish and to get out of my hair. I’ve been doing this for six years and I need some space! Maybe we’ll homeschool again in the future, I can see that perhaps, but I’m just trying to get through today at the moment. Tomorrow will worry about itself.

Another awesome unexpected change is that we’ll be spending the holidays in the States! We were not planning on it, as a matter of fact, we were planning to only be able to escape to the beach and spend Christmas with the penguins. But the tickets fell out of the sky a few weeks ago (God is good like that). We are not paying a dime of this trip – and neither are our supporters. Thank you, Jesus! is all I have to say because I think we need this break more than anything. I am THRILLED to be able to get away from the 100 degree heat no A/C, the noise, the flies, and lots of other things. Hopefully we can rest and recharge, visiting friends and family and eating and eating and eating all the foods we’ve so missed! Ah, just to back in the States where you don’t have to fear for your life every time you go out. How refreshing that will be. I had hoped to not have to make any presentations and just relax, but people have already asked us. Which I guess is good and might be good for our support issues. But which means I will have to prepare most of it since Tony’s English has gone WAY down hill here. The kids sometimes say to him when he speaks to them in English, “Whaaat? I have no idea what you just said.” And then they all laugh hysterically (except me).We have a 15 hour drive to Buenos Aires just to catch our flight, but somehow that doesn’t seem like a big deal after all we’ve been through this year.

(*By the way, we are still looking for a car to borrow or rent, so if anyone knows of one, please let us know!)

Lastly, I am also taking an internet break. I won’t be blogging for December and January and will only be checking email once a day. I already deleted Facebook – and no, I don’t miss it. I’ll try to post a few more things this month, then we’ll be back in February!

a present I found next to my bed one day…

:)

2 thoughts on “ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. ((hugs))
    I used to draw and write letters, etc. – for my mom and dad too – when I was little. That made me smile.

    It will be so good to see you again. And I love the testimony of the first story you shared there regarding the boys drawings.

    You obviously are a REAL light there. Don’t let Satan blow it out… keep on letting it shine! (what’s that little S.School song? This little light of mine… I’m going to let it shine… )

Leave a Reply

