in Buenos Aires

After a week on the road we finally made it to Buenos Aires. I wouldn’t know where to begin to describe the trip, except to say that we made it alive. I doubt anyone wants to listen to my rants about the roads here. Driving in this country is so incredibly dangerous oh. my. word. I screamed more than a few times. I haven’t prayed that hard in a while.

Fortunately we had a very nice time in all the places we stopped to visit: lunch in Choele Choel with the son of American missionaries that came to Argentina in the 50s, the night in Bahia Blanca with Tony’s uncle who is the sweet pastor of nice little church there, two days and nights in Nechochea with the wonderful family of American friend Katie and her Argentinian husband, one day and two nights with Tony’s best friends mom in Mar del Plata, and an incredibly hot, humid, nightmarish time in 95 degree Buenos Aires. Ugh. Hating this part, but oh well, what are you gonna do?

The visit to the Embassy was a success in that we did get Boy’s emergency passport, but it was a hellish drive that took us three hours to get downtown, when it should have taken one, and ended with unbelievable levels of stress for everyone and a migraine for me. Buenos Aires is a nightmare, always has been, always will be. Some things never change. When we were at the Embassy there was an American woman who was also applying for an emergency passport because she was robbed in broad daylight in front of a police station. I didn’t hear the whole story, but her knees were all bruised and scrapped. Yeah. Ugh. We clutched our bags and papers close to us and were constantly looking around us, with our angry “don’t mess with us we’re not tourists” street faces. You really can tell the tourists from a mile away. I know I look American, but hopefully it helps to be seen with Tony. lol

Please pray for us, we are in need of prayer. Thanks.

Getting up at 2am tomorrow morning to make our flight, Lord-willing at 8. As you can imagine, some of us can’t wait. :)

 

7 thoughts on “in Buenos Aires

  1. Cannot wait to seeeeeee you!!!!!! YAY. I’m so happy. Sorry for the hellish commute, and the struggles at the embassy, so very happy you will be here!!!!!!

  2. Cannot wait for you to see a picture of the face of the little one you have prayed so hard for us! We were matched with a 20 month old little girl last week!!!

  3. Praying for you guys that’s it is smooth sailing from here on out. Glad to hear that getting the new passport went well. See you soon! Let us know if you need anything before you get here. I know, I should have mentioned that sooner but I am a slacker. :(

  4. Daniel and I really enjoyed your visit, and we’re glad to hear that everything went well at the Embassy. Have a safe flight, and enjoy your time in the U.S.!

  5. Chris, SO SORRY I have been absent for so long! I hope you got my email back in Nov. Are you all state-side still? I hope you are getting some rest and re-energizing with family and friends. If you are traveling back out through FL, please contact me if you want to stop through here!

Leave a Reply

