1.29.13

We have been back in the U.S. for seven wonderful weeks visiting family and friends, driving on smooth roads, and indulging in amazingly novel and delicious foods like Cool Ranch Doritos, and Mexican, and Hazelnut Coffeemate.

Yum-O.

The first time I went to the supermarket (at 9 at night, and I wasn’t afraid in the parking lot!) I must have stood in front of the coffee section for a full ten minutes completely overwhelmed by over thirty different brands of just coffee. The Starbucks was the same price as our coffee in Argentina: Coffee A and Coffee B.  I happily grabbed a bag of Starbucks, not feeling guilty at all since it’s what I spend in Argentina every time I want to drink coffee. My awe continued as I moved to the check out and the lady was so nice, greeting me with a smile and did you find everything you need? and have a great night!

People smile a lot here, and laugh a lot, too. And why wouldn’t they? America is beautiful, and life is wonderful here. We can’t believe how quiet it is. No barking dogs, no honking horns, no trash everywhere – just rolling green hills and Canada geese honking here and there. Beautiful.

We didn’t experience any reverse culture shock, which is a first for me. It’s like we never left. The kids were THRILLED to see and play with their friends, who happily hadn’t forgotten them in a year and a half. It’s nice to be where people know you and love you anyway, you don’t have to explain or defend yourself, and you are just known and accepted. Very refreshing, very rejuvinating, very healing. We needed this.

We leave to go back to Argentina in five days. Crunch-time packing and squeezing in a few more visits. Sorry, no pics – haven’t taken a one since we’ve been back. Too busy enjoying our time to stop and take pictures. And I’ve been reading. Reading a lot. Ah, the public library. How we’ve all missed it; it’s a beautiful thing. 

I can’t post any pics from my super old laptop, but maybe back in Argentina I’ll pick up blogging again.

:)

2 thoughts on “1.29.13

  1. I cannot believe that I will not get to see you! I missed you the first time you were at Grace because i was sick and then I was there this past Sun & you were sick.

    I had breakfast with Carolyn Ruch today. I was beyond excited to hear Tony helped do the Spanish VoiceOver for her video book with the Rise n Shine movement. I have been a supporter of this movement for a very long time now and Carolyn is a dear friend and sister in The Lord.

    While we pray for you often I want you to know that after hearing Tony on Sunday I’m kicking those prayers in high gear!

    Take care Chris, your family sure is missed. May The Lord bless and keep you as you continue to follow His lead and walk in obedience to His calling.

    Love, Jane

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Sounds like just the refresher you all needed! I love to hear that you are enjoying yourselves, eating and visiting. I pray you have been reenergized and God will give you new hope and strength to get back to your mission. Safe travels home!

    Again, I am sorry and sad that I missed your original email during my hiatus from blogging. I am trying to get back to blogging slowly but surely. I needed a break but now miss my friends and favorite adventures that I live through some of you.

Leave a Reply

