Thanksgiving in Patagonia (2012)

*Now that I finally downloaded the pictures off the camera, here is our Thanksgiving Post, three months later. :D

DSCF8007

This was our second Thanksgiving in Patagonia. The first one we were able to actually celebrate. It was unique, fun, and memorable. We have much to be thankful for.

We spent the morning trying to get a hold of someone at the U.S. Embassy, then at the kids’ new school talking to the director about what paperwork we’ll need to enroll them in the fall (February) [UPDATE: not doin’ that. decided to still homeschool. long story…]. It is apparent that this is going to be a two-country bureaucratic nightmare. I’m sure it’ll work out, though. It has to.

As the morning progressed, I couldn’t figure out why no one was calling me back from the Embassy Emergency Line until I realized it was… Thanksgiving Day. Duh. American holiday = Embassy closed. It was about noon when we realized this, so decided last minute to go ahead and scramble around for the necessary food stuffs to do Thanksgiving. I had scratched the idea previously of bothering with Thanksgiving when I realized I had about ten suitcases to pack in the next five days, and felt it would be too stressful to try to hunt down a turkey, cook, clean, and possibly host – all when it’s 90 degrees out.

But it turned out to be an unusually chilly day, and the kids thought it was a great idea – so off my girlie and I went to the biggest, most overpriced supermarket in the city; the only place turkey’s have ever been spotted in Neuquén.

They were out.

So we settled for a good sized chicken, a loaf of white bread to cube our own sage stuffing, and ingredients to make creamy garlic mashed potatoes, baked sweet corn, and fresh satueéd asparagus. We skipped the pumpkin pie (I was not about to boil a squash and drive all over town to hunt down ginger), so we settled on easy-to-make Russian Tea Cakes for desert. The entire meal had at least a pound and a half of butter easily. And you know what Paula Deen says, “Everything’s better with butter!“. Our poor livers.

My DD said it was the best Thanksgiving ever. When I suggested we invite some people last minute so they could experience a real American Thanksgiving, the kids said no we invite people every year, let’s just have it be our family. It was very last minute – I didn’t even start cooking until 1pm. We finally ate, famished, at 7:30. If we had invited an Argentinian family I’m sure they would not have wanted to eat that “early” and would have shown up at 8 or 9 anyway just based on experience. Maybe next year we’ll do Thanksgiving “lunch” at 2 or 3.

We went around the table and had each person name ten things they were thankful for. It was funny and revealing. As I was naming mine, my 3yo interrupted no less than three times to suggest I be thankful for her “byoo-fah-yul-ness”. DS12 is thankful for God and marine reptiles (?). DD9 is thankful for God and her kitty. And DD3 is thankful for “me” and “pink, sparkly, princess ruffles”. Tony named people. Lots of people. All by name. (He likes people.)

I spent from 12:30 until 9pm in the kitchen, but it was definitely well worth the memory of making and enjoying our first actual Thanksgiving meal in Patagonia.

YUM-O!

DSCF8004

THANKSGIVING DAY in PATAGONIA MENU:

Roasted Chicken with Sage Stuffing and Onions

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Baked Corn Casserole

Asparagus sautéed in Olive Oil

{MIA: the Turkey, Cranberry Sauce, Marshmallows, and Pumpkin Pie. It was still fantastic! }

Leave a Reply

