Therapy: Cooking

7103174985_43570de879_z
[Photo credit: The Pioneer Woman — because I haven’t taken one single photo since we’ve been home.]

I’ve been doing all sorts of therapy since being back State-side.

Gardening Therapy, Reading Therapy, Learning-to-Knit Therapy, Walking Therapy, Cooking Therapy. And my favorite: Attacking the Overgrown Bramble Hedge with Shears and a Handsaw Therapy. They regretted their encounter. And, as you can see, these are all solitary therapies. It’s my way of working through things without having to talk about it.

COOKING THERAPY.

I’ve slowly regained my desire to cook. The lack of varied ingredients available to us in Patagonia sucked the life out of my kitchen. It was meat, pasta, white bread, and meat. As delicious as it was, it depressed me. I need green. Variety. Ethnicity, for the love of God!

So, I’ve been doing some Cooking Therapy. I hate to be a mean mommy, but no one’s allowed in my kitchen when my sessions are underway. Unless, of course, I’m feeling nice, and not PMS-ing. Some times of the month are better than others, you know. Aging sucks, what can I say?

I’ve been teaching myself how to knit. It’s really not that hard, try it.

Trying to live my life in 23 1/2 hours has been good, too. But more on those therapies later.

Here are some Cooking Therapy Recipes the knee-biters actually liked:

Chicken Florentine (above photo)
Sausage Swirls
Crockpot Coq au Vin*
Spinach and Bacon Quiche
Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole
Four Season Burgundy Beef*
Gorilla Bread (beats regular monkey bread’s butt! Everybody asks for this recipe!)
Peanut Butter Brownie Cupcakes

*If alcohol is not your thing, don’t worry – it all cooks off and adds a complexity and depth nothing else can.

Leave a Reply

